Religious Philosophy | Category

Perpetual Peace | Immanuel Kant

Perpetual Peace by Immanuel Kant (22 April 1724 – 12 February 1804) A Philosophical Essay, 1795. The Definitive Articles of a Perpetual Peace between States I. ‘The Civil Constitution in every State shall be Republican.’ II. ‘The Right of Nations shall be founded on a Federation of Free States.’ III. ‘The Rights of men as Citizens of the world in a cosmo-political system, shall be restricted to conditions of universal Hospitality.’

Light of Rāmānuja’s School | Śrīnivāsa

This is a very detailed and lucid compendium on all most important tenets of Viśiṣṭādvaita or “Qualified Dualism” school of understanding as founded by great Āchārya Śrī Rāmānuja and transmitted and practised in Śrī Vaishnavism. The name of the present work is “The Light of Rāmānuja’s School” or “Yatīndra-Mata-Dīpikā” by Śrīnivāsa Āchārya, who lived probably in the beginning of the 17th century. “The Light of

Philosophy of Rāmānujācārya

What has been attempted is only the presentation of Rāmānuja’s views on important points with just so much reference to the doctrines of Śaṅkara, as is necessary to understand Rāmānuja. Enough has, however, been said to show that Rāmānuja and his system, though not possessing the, simplicity or universality of Śaṅkarācārya’s, is yet an eminently sound one, compatible with an admission of the reality of


This collection is dedicated to the fundamental, most important life’s work of Vedanta Deśikan (1268–1370) about the fundamental doctrines, teachings and philosophy of Śrī Vaiṣṇavism. The present classical work is known as Śrīmad Rāhasyatraya Sāram, which could be translated as The Essence of the Holy Three Secrets – referring to the 3 fundamental Secrets-Mantras of Śrī Vaiṣṇavism – Tirumantra, Dvaya Mantra and Charama Shloka -, Name: Vedanta Deśika Times: 1268–1370 Religion: Śrī Vaiṣṇavism Status: One of most important Teachers, especially in Vaḍakalai or Northern tradition of Śrī Vaiṣṇavism Works: Many written works, both Philosophic and Religious Stotras Works Online: 1. Śrīmad Rāhasyatraya Sāram Essence of the Three Secrets 2. Śrī Hayagrīva Stotra 3. Śrī Stuti About Him: 1. Śrī Vedanta Deśika | 1268-1369 Biography

6 Schools | Hindu Philosophy

In the following pages you can find a short overview of the six major schools of Indian Philosophy, also traditionally termed Six Darśanas or Shad-Darśanas, such as: The Nyāya, The Vaiśeṣika, The Sānkhya, The Yoga, The Pūrva Mimāṁsa 6. The Uttara-Mimāṁsa or The Vedanta + as also the major teachings of Shaivism and Śaktism. Hindu philosophy is not mere speculation or guesswork. It is lofty,

Nyāya | The School of Logicians

The Nyāya is the science of logic, and provides the only sound methodology of philosophical inquiry into the nature of knowledge and the objects of knowledge. It is the means to obtain Right Knowledge(pramā)about the Self and to discover the purpose of life. The only way to impart our experience to others and to elucidate their implications for the rest of our life and defend

Mīmāṁsa – Interpretation of Sacred Texts

The Vedānta which is the major school of Hindu philosophy is based primarily upon revealed texts — the Upaniṣads, which are the revelations of enlightened sages or mystics called Rishis, but the teachings derived from them and the theological and philosophical systems grounded on these ‘revelations’ are subjected to rigorous semantic analysis and reasoned debate. Thus all Hindu philosophers/theologians are required to study logic (nyāya)

Śrīvacana Bhūṣaṇa | Piḷḷai Lokācārya

Piḷḷai-lokācārya who preferred a solitary and tranquil residence moved to a temple of Lord Narasiṁha in the outskirts of Śrī Raṅgam and it was here that he delivered discourses on Dharma to all who would listen. He taught in a very simple and skilful manner which is reflected in his writings. Piḷḷai-lokācārya opposed all differences based upon, caste, gender, nationality etc. He exemplified the doctrine

Prapanna Pārijāta | Servant’s Heritage

The name Prapanna Pārijāta was given to the work by the author himself. This book was written by Śrī Vatsya Varadaguru (more popularly known as Nadadoor Ammal) who was the preceptor of Vedanta Deśika’s preceptor, a Saint of 12th century. The name Prapanna Pārijāta author himself defines thus: “That is to say, the essential requisites of a virtuous character have been collected here from various

Śrī Bhakti-Rasamrita-Sindhu

This is the work of Rūpa-Gosvāmī (1489–1564) we know as Śrī Bhakti-Rasāmṛta-Sindhu, a fundamental work on Devotional service, Bhakti, it’s inner meanings, psychology, degrees of transformed Consciousness and things favourable to this perfection of consciousness from average karmic – influenced consciousness driven by natural tendencies towards absolutely purified Divine Consciousness, the Consciousness perfected in a pure and humble devotional service to supreme Personality of Godhead.